Sunshine State falls to Team Georgia in thriller, 20-14

Written by MCA. Posted in Featured, News


Published on January 14, 2017 with No Comments

In the 9th annual War of the Border All-Star game, Team Florida was edged by Team Georgia 20-14 in the final seconds of play in the 4th quarter.

The opening quarter was a defensive battle until team Georgia’s G. Daniels (Lee County) ran for a touchdown from 35 yards out for a 7-0 lead. Later, Colquitt County kicker I. Malagon tacked on a 42 yard field goal to give the Georgia a 10-0 lead with 13:23 left in the 2nd quarter.

Team Florida quickly answered with a scoring drive of their own. Two Lincoln teammates hooked up on a 54 yard play to put the Sunshine state on the 1 yard line as quarterback C. Brimm and wide-out M. Garye connected. Two plays later on a fade route, Brimm found Garye again for the touchdown. Garye was selected as the offensive player of the game.

Trailing at the half 10-7, Team Florida claimed the lead on a 94 yard scoop-and-score by defender Z. Wade (Jefferson County). Wade was selected as the defensive player of the game for team Florida with a pair of pass breakups and 9 tackles.

After another Malagon field goal, Georgia trailed Florida 14-13 to start the 4th quarter. Cairo’s J.M. Owens led Georgia’s offense down the field as the clock began to tick below two minutes, and set his team up for at least a game-winning field goal with a 38-yard pass to Colquitt’s T. Powell. On the next play, H. Everson (Worth Co.) ran into the end zone from the 6, securing the victory for Georgia with less than a minute left.

War of the Border is an annual all-star football game for high school seniors from south Georgia and north Florida. This year’s game was played at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Thomasville, GA

No Comments

Comments for Sunshine State falls to Team Georgia in thriller, 20-14 are now closed.